Message sent from:

Early Years


In the Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) we believe every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfill their potential. 

There are seven areas of learning within the EYFS curriculum. 

The three prime areas of learning are:

•             Communication and language

Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations

•             Physical Development

Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

•             Personal, Social and Emotional Development.  

Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

•             Literacy

Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest. 

•             Mathematics

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

•             Understanding the World

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

•             Expressive Arts and Design. 

Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.


  Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play, both inside and outside, and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. We believe that play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others. Therfore children have time throughout each day to work with an adult on an adult-led piece of work as well as time to play and access the child-initiated activiites. 


Hit enter to search